Return

So we celebrated our Cana-versary in Whistler on Saturday.

I had a full day lesson, with Justin, my instructor from the previous weekend.

whistler_28Nov2015

Returning to the same instructor is always a good idea, particularly when it’s the next lesson. (Even if this mucks up my intended naming convention for my skiing posts).

You might recall, I had the same instructor for three days last Easter. I spoke to Yoyo on Saturday, and updated him on my skiing.

I saw Justin in the village before the start of lessons, and I asked him if he was taking level 3. He was, and we were both happy. Me, because of the continuity, and him, because he was definitely working that day.

The other bonus was there was only one other person in the lesson. Normally, the lessons at Whistler are four people per instructor. This is a good ratio, but 2:1 is even better – it was practically a private lesson.

My crowning achievement on Saturday was missing sitting on a chair lift. I was on my preferred right side, and I just wasn’t lined up properly. Fortunately, there was a sign beside me which stopped me from actually falling. There also wasn’t much of a line, so any embarrassment was limited to a few people.

The liftie stopped the lift, and I composed myself and readied myself for the next chair.

We skied back to this chair, and I was fine the second time.

The other funny incident from Saturday was at the start of the lesson. Julia, the other participant, said to Justin, “My skis are over there.”

I added, “My skis are at the Roundhouse.”

Justin was perplexed. “Well that’s a first”.

I explained that our car was parked at Whistler Creekside. Rather than taking the bus the 4km between the two village hubs, I took the Creekside Gondola and Red Chair to the Roundhouse, before downloading on the Whistler Gondola to Whistler Village to start my lesson.

It made sense to me, and I had time to do this. (Check out the Whistler map, if you want to see what I’m talking about). And I left my skis at the top of the mountain, to save lugging them around any longer/further than I needed.

All in all, a good day skiing, and an excellent way to celebrate one year in Vancouver.

When we returned to Vancouver, we showered and ventured out for dinner and drinks at Pourhouse.

pourhouse_champagnecocktail

Photo: Whistler Blackcomb and it was a bit busier than this at the Roundhouse.

Leave a comment