Struggle

We had our first ski day of the season at Whistler Blackcomb on Saturday.

I struggled, in the powder, and in my new ski boots.

skiing_26nov2016

A huge amount of snow had fallen in the previous few days. These snow reports are from Friday morning and Saturday afternoon. So. Much. Powder.

Whistler Blackcomb, being close to the coast, generally has wetter snow than other resorts which are further inland.

And to be honest, I’m not used to skiing in powder. Certainly not in the 26cm which fell during the day on Saturday, on top of the 22cm from Friday night.

Powder is sticky, and there were moments when I was on the mountain, skis pointing downhill, but not going anywhere. Struggle street, which was both funny and frustrating.

Also, my new ski boots didn’t help my struggle, nor did my lack of ski fitness.

Whistler was also busy. Really busy. It was the first weekend of the season, and no doubt the snow fall attracted most of Vancouver. And with only part of the resort open, the lift lines were long.

Our bus ride to Whistler took about an hour longer than usual, due to cars stopped alongside the road. Whether it was because the cars were blocking traffic, or people were rubber necking, I’m not sure. The ride home on Saturday night was fine, however a friend said the drive on Sunday night was a slow one.

I’d planned to do a lesson on Saturday, but we didn’t arrive with sufficient time. In some ways, I glad I didn’t struggle in a lesson, and had A as my main witness.

One final point, yesterday was our two year anniversary in Canada, our Cana-versary as A named it last year. He worked, and I spent the day drinking coffee and planning holidays for next summer.

We spent the evening at the cinema, watching a documentary about northern BC called Koneline: our land beautiful. It was stunning, and you should click the link to at least watch the trailer. We then had dinner at Tacofino.

Kind of an appropriate evening, all things considered.

coffee_28Nov2016.jpg

2 thoughts on “Struggle

  1. Cill & Chris November 30, 2016 / 15:18

    My skiing this year is delayed due to a possibly broken toe, but I am not sad to miss a long drive and long lines at Whistler. Dinner at Tacofino though sounds like the perfect way to finish the day!

    Like

    • pw19 November 30, 2016 / 21:37

      The lines at WB should be shorter this weekend. There won’t be the excitement of all that powder on the opening weekend. And, the whole resort should be open.
      I hope your toe isn’t broken, and you can ski soon.

      Like

Leave a comment